Mission Statements

Brigham Young University (BYU) Mission Statement

to assist individuals in their quest for perfection and eternal life. That assistance should provide a period of intensive learning in a stimulating setting where a commitment to excellence is expected and the full realization of human potential is pursued.”

BYU is where I completed my undergraduate degree. I love the university and had a wonderful experience attending there. Though imperfect, as all institution are, BYU gets many things right where others fall short. I have never been around a group of good-willed, focused, and inspiring young adults as I have at BYU. BYU is a Christian university, being owned and operated by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. It’s mission statement is focused on ensuring that the university’s culture remains focused on the character development of the student body. Admittedly, this can feel cumbersome at times, but all students are aware of the requirements before enrolling.

Above all, I appreciate how BYU’s mission statement centers on a purpose-focused life. In a time where the emerging generations seem less connected with a sense of purpose, this mission statement reminds the student body that they, like all others in the world, have a divine identity as children of God. Nothing instills enduring self-worth like the acknowledgement of this important truth. It shifts focus from the short-lived and short-sighted, pleasure-based ROIs, towards eternal pursuits like family, faith, and secular and religious education.

In summary, because of my faith I know who I am now, and who I eventually want to become. I am grateful for the time spent at BYU that allowed me the space and grace to fail enough times to realize this.

Virginia Tech Mission Statement

“Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech) is a public land-grant university serving the Commonwealth of Virginia, the nation, and the world community. The discovery and dissemination of new knowledge are central to its mission. Through its focus on teaching and learning, research and discovery, and outreach and engagement, the university creates, conveys, and applies knowledge to expand personal growth and opportunity, advance social and community development, foster economic competitiveness, and improve the quality of life. “

I have only been at Virginia Tech for a few short months. So far, I am impressed with the University. Mostly I am impressed by the faculty. I am impressed by their commitment to their work and I am convinced that in some small and indirect way is a result of the mission statement posted above.

I particularly am impressed by how the mission statement focuses on the individual. The phrase ” Through its focus on teaching and learning, research and discovery, and outreach and engagement, the university creates, conveys, and applies knowledge to expand personal growth and opportunity…” I believe in this, that the individual must remain at the center of efforts. It is my observation that institution that lose sight of the individual are on the path to losing its soul. This is true for universities, businesses, governments, and religious institutions. It is good to see that this focus on the individual is enshrined in the missions statement of the university.

4 thoughts on “Mission Statements

  1. I appreciate how BYU’s mission statement focuses on the student. It seems like they are focused on student development and growth. However, I like the level of details provided in the mission statement of Virginia Tech. I believe a mission statement should stand alone. If the mission statement was the only information someone had about BYU, it does not reveal anything about the structure of the university (public, private, religious affiliation, etc.) or the main arms of the university (teaching, research, outreach if applicable). I wonder how it could be expanded.
    Also, do you know how has to approve the mission statement at BYU? I’m just curious.

    Like

  2. Hi Drew,
    As soon as a I read the first mission, religious came to my mind, I found BYU mission very assertive as a Christian University and at the same time I found valuable how in the mission they state that in order to fulfill their goal it is necessary and intensive learning. I noticed in this mission it is the lack of connection with the world of the community, it seems more individual that community orienter.
    I like your insights about VT mission, and as you I noted how the University it is oriented to the community and the dissemination of knowledge, it is not just pursuing the benefit of their students but the benefits of local and nationals.

    Like

  3. I enjoyed your analysis and reflection about BYU and Virginia Tech. Although Virginia Tech is a public, secular institution, one of the defining characteristics of the university is a commitment to others, through service, as captured in our motto, “Ut Prosim.” However, it is also interesting to learn about how the university supports the development of the whole person, including through nurturing opportunities and connections with communities of faith in the New River Valley [https://vtnews.vt.edu/articles/2017/07/070517-dsa-kshushok.html].

    One thing Virginia Tech gets right, either intentionally or organically, is the sense of larger purpose that imbues our student body. Perhaps this is a bit off topic from the mission analysis, but I hadn’t thought of the similarities between BYU and VT until reading your reflection. If any mandate is important for higher education in general right now, it is to emphasize a renewed sense of community and commitment to the ‘other’, and encouraging service is once such way to encourage this.

    Like

  4. I enjoyed your takeaways from Virginia Tech’s mission statement and your experience thus far. What better way to relate to a mission statement then by experiencing the university firsthand. I have been in graduate school at VT for almost 4 years (masters and now PhD) and I agree that the faculty are very positive component. They are dedicated and have helped shape my experience for the better. I think this plays into personal growth as stated in the mission statement. I wonder if this experience and exposure to research is shared by both undergraduate and graduate students?

    Like

Leave a comment